Ethernaut mid August 2019 update

Hi Ethernauts,

Upgrade to Solidity 0.5

@paulinablaszk has been upgrading all the smart contracts to Solidity 0.5 in https://github.com/OpenZeppelin/ethernaut/pull/123. All the tests are now working :fireworks:

To deploy the contracts we needed to upgrade truffle-contract though this then causes an issue running Ethernaut. :cry:

I assume we need to transpile truffle-contract, all help appreciated :pray: (I am new to JavaScript :thinking:): https://github.com/OpenZeppelin/ethernaut/pull/123#issuecomment-521896117

Once we have this working we can test Ethernaut and then upgrade the production version. :rocket:

Next Steps

Once we have upgraded all the contracts to Solidity 0.5 then we can work on:

Future

I :heart: Ethernaut and would love to see it used more to help new and experienced developers learn more about secure smart contract development.

One of the ideas that has been proposed is to make Ethernaut more structured, so that it is easier for the community to use and follow.

We could have a level per vulnerability in the Compiled list of solidity vulnerabilities

Then we could have a topic per level in the forum for documentation and discussion.

This would also make it more structured for community members to join in building levels as there would be a list of levels that we need.

1. What do you think of this idea of a structured approach?
  2. How can we make the most of Ethernaut?
  3. Do we want to call ourselves Ethernauts? :space_invader::robot:

Please share your thoughts with the Ethernauts. :pray:

Tagging: @paulinablaszk, @obernardovieira, @frederickalcantara, @scammi, @martriay, @ylv-io, @redragonx, @ianbrtt, @abcoathup, @martriay, @elopio, @fasteater plus any community members who want to get involved.

4 Likes

Thanks @abcoathup for leading the efforts here.

And thanks to everybody who has contributed code to improve the Ethernaut.