How to use the CLI with contracts created via a factory contract

Hey, I am new to oz and currently we are using oz in our project to upgrade the smart contract , oz is very easy and helpful to us to maintain the smart contract up to date. Also we do have factory contract where we use to create instance of smart contract through factory contract, in that scenario, Through oz we are unable to have entries of the each contract instance in .openzeppelin json file so we unable to update the each smart contract instance… where these smart contract is not directly deployed through oz CLI tool… Is there any way to make the contract created through factory could be up to date. Thanks for your time… waiting for your response…

1 Like

Hi @Srinivasan_S,

I assume you mean that your factory contract is creating upgradeable contracts (rather than non-upgradeable contracts) as per the example: Creating instances from Solidity

There is an open issue to be able to interact with an upgradeable contract created not via the CLI: https://github.com/OpenZeppelin/openzeppelin-sdk/issues/1264

I am not aware of a way to do this currently other than interacting with the contracts directly.

Hi @abcoathup,
Thanks for your response, Yes, actually we have different factory contract not similar as shown as an example given by you. My factory contract which is creating upgradeable contracts instances (contract already upgraded through oz CLI). In future if i am making some changes to the existing upgradeable contract through CLI and creating instances out of it through factory contract Then the newly created instances should retains the old contract state data or not?

Thanks for your time.

1 Like

Hi @Srinivasan_S,

I am not sure I understand your setup.
Can you give a bit more detail on the smart contracts?

For example:

• Upgradeable contract A that was created via the CLI.
  • Factory contract F that creates upgradeable contracts A