Design a governance token

Hi :slight_smile:
I am a designer and frontend dev and it’s a while that I read about blockchain and smart contract development.
I messed around with some tutorials about solidity, hardhat and ethersjs/web3js libs together with some openzeppelin blog posts (thanks a lot for curating this forum as well… )

As next step, I’d like to build a more challeging (at least for myself) proof of concept…
I’d like to develop a governance token that mimics coop shares.

This simply means users with tokens (aka shares) can partecipate in the community governance, but their vote will have the same weight no matter of the amount of tokens they own (1 user = 1 vote) - in opposite of the most common governance tokens out there.

The rest of the flow can stay the same, users with shares can create new proposals or vote active ones (I would not bother with adding delegates for a POC).

My intention is then to hook the smart contract with a simple dashboard and interact with metamask.

Some relevant links I found so far includes:

I didnt found tutorials nor guides about how to implement governance tokens so far, any guidance is very much appreciated.

Thanks you all :slight_smile:

A naive implementation of this idea will be vulnerable to sybil attacks: how will you know that it's not the same person behind 10 different users?

You need a sybil-resistent identity system, which is a hard problem. Proof of Humanity comes to mind.

Thanks!!
I spent some days studying the governor bravo governance architecture and planning to spend more time experimenting with that, I’m pretty trilled about the possibilities on-chain governance offers already at this early stage…
Anyway related to the 1 user = 1 vote issue, I was wondering if this flow overcomes it (based on the governor governance contracts)…