Using built-in function in openzeppelin inside my own function

Hi everyone, I am a newbie at writing smart contract. I’ve just started playing around with Solidity and I had this really weird error that I do not know why.
I want to use a function that is already a built-in function in openzeppelin (for example, function safeTransferFrom(address, address, uint256, uint256, bytes) in ERC1155.sol). For specific purposes, I want to use this function (safeTransferFrom()) inside another function (for example, function test()). But as you can see, once I call the safeTransferFrom(), I just cannot write any code after that line (I tried in the hardhat/truffle console and I confirm this). For “after that line”, I mean, just inside the current function I am writing. I can write anything after that function, but not inside that function, after the line I used safeTransferFrom.
I have no idea why I got this “issue” (not sure it’s an issue, maybe I just don’t really understand the concept).
So do you have any idea or suggest about this one?

I got a picture of my code below to represent my problem. Thanks for your support! I really appreciate it!

:1234: Code here

:computer: Environment

• Solidity: ^0.8.0
  • Yarn: 1.22.10
  • Hardhat: ^2.3.0
  • OpenZeppelin: 4.x

It’s because with those functions they are returning things, so it ends your code execution when calling things like SafeTransfer - hence the name, it’s “safe” because after you call, that’s final. No other things can happen, which could mess with other things in your code.

Read the mint function that you are trying to do and show me what you find!

1 Like

This doesn't make any sense to me. How do you know you can't write any code after that line? Are you seeing any errors?

1 Like

Yes, I did do some experiments.