My experience collaborating with OpenZeppelin

I’m a Professor at the University of Buenos Aires and my main field of research is automated program analysis. Even though I’ve been involved in the development of several software analysis tools I had no previous experience neither in crypto currencies nor in the ethereum ecosystem.

I knew about OpenZeppelin when one of my former MSc students mentioned Smart Contract security and increasing interest in the ethereum community about program analysis. Then, I had the chance to talk with some colleagues from my University that work at OpenZeppelin and learned a little bit about the company. I told them about my interests in understanding the ethereum ecosystem and smart contracts audits and I offered them to share my experience about program analysis techniques. The idea was to help them understand to what extent program analysis tools could improve software auditors effectiveness.

Participating in Software Audits

I started my collaboration project by participating in software audits. The idea was to familiarize with the ethereum platform and the solidity language. I wanted to understand how auditors work, in particular what kind of issues they look for, the strategy they use to find them and to get an initial intuition on how program analysis techniques would be helpful for assisting them.

The experience was really fun and fruitful. From that experience I got a first grasp on how software auditors think and work during audits. I learned how they build a mental model of the contracts, how they quickly find common issues or vulnerabilities and, more importantly, the importance of understanding functional requirements. I was impressed about how they took a piece of code that looked fishy to build an attacker model that finally led to an exploit. Amazing!