Fail with error 'ERC20: transfer amount exceeds balance'

Facing transfer amount exceeds balance when I call method transferFrom

I am using HDwallet provider to sign my transactions

I am using ERC20 by openzeppelin itself while creating the contract

What I want to achieve is basically send tokens from account_2 to account_3 and make account_1 that is the master account holding all the tokens to pay for gas/mining fees. Is that possible? I am new to solidity and smart contracts (blockchain in general) thanks for understanding.

const init = async() => {

try{

await contract.methods.approve(account_address_2,100)

.send({from:account_address_1,gas:10499964})

.on('receipt',async function(data){

console.log(data.events.Approval.returnValues);

try{

await contract.methods.allowance(account_address_1,account_address_2)

.call().then(async function(data){

console.log(data);

try{

await contract.methods.transferFrom(account_address_2,account_address_3,10)

.send({from:account_address_1,gas:10499964}).then(function(data){

console.log(data);

})

}

catch(err){

console.log(err);

}

})

}

catch(err){

console.log(err);

}

});

}

catch(err){

console.log(err);

}

}

init();

Hi, welcome! :wave:

I am not sure what do you want to do exactly.
There are three accounts: from:account_address_1, from:account_address_2, from:account_address_3, so I assume that you want to transfer token from from:account_address_1 to from:account_address_3, so in this case, the right step should be

• contract.methods.approve(account_address_2,100).send({from:account_address_1});
  • contract.methods.transferFrom(account_address_1,account_address_3,10).send({from:account_address_2}
1 Like

Hi @Skyge , thanks for the quick reply.