Executing multiple actions within a smart contract

Hello,

I have been trying to create a smart contract which will execute multiple actions, similar to the following example.

I was able to do execute my smart contract successfully using with ganache mainnet fork. But, when I implement this on the mainnet, I always run out of gas or I use up HIGH gas.

This is how I am doing this. I am NOT an advanced programmer, hence, I think my implementation is wrong.

1. I call a function present in my smart contact and passing 5 arguments to this function.

2. Based on the arguments, there are about 6 different functions which the smart contract can call within itself.

3. Based on the arguments, the smart contract will in turn call a respective function present within the smart contract and execute a series of actions.

4. Inside this, each of this function in the smart contract, I execute the following sequence of actions.
    ---- balanceOf function
    ---- approve function
    ---- swapTokens (this can be Uniswap, 1inch, Curve.fi, etc)
    ---- balanceOf function
    ---- approve function
    ---- deposit function of a token
    ---- balanceOf function
    ---- approve function
    ---- swapTokens (this can be Uniswap, 1inch, Curve.fi, etc)
    ---- balanceOf
    ---- withdraw function

I know that the above is NOT the correct implementation. Due to this, when I call the smart contract, its using up too much of GAS or its always Out of GAS to execute.

How can I solve this? How can I make sure that I am following the proper structure to implement the smart contract with the sequence of actions provided above?

Also, I came across DSProxy and your own minimal proxy contract implementation. Here is one example of DSProxy transaction.

In the above example, how are the sequence of actions passed on in byte code? It calls the following function.

execute(bytes _code, bytes _data)