Burning an token - owner only

Hi all,

I am very very new to this field and am trying to create a burnable token.
Leaving my code below:

// SPDX-License-Identifier: MIT
pragma solidity ^0.8.0;

import "@openzeppelin/contracts/token/ERC721/ERC721.sol";
import "@openzeppelin/contracts/token/ERC721/extensions/ERC721URIStorage.sol";
import "@openzeppelin/contracts/utils/Counters.sol";

contract COToken is ERC721URIStorage {
    using Counters for Counters.Counter;
    Counters.Counter private _tokenIds;

constructor() ERC721("COIN", "CO") {}

function createNFT(address owner, string memory tokenURI)
        public
        returns (uint256)
    {
        _tokenIds.increment();
        uint256 newItemId = _tokenIds.current();
        _mint(owner, newItemId);
        _setTokenURI(newItemId, tokenURI);
        return newItemId;
    }

function burn(uint256 tokenid)
        public
        returns (uint256)
    {
        require(msg.sender == ownerOf(tokenid));
        _burn(tokenid);
        return tokenid;

}

}   

As you can see - I have created a createNFT function which enables to both mint and attach a tokenURI to a new token. More importantly, however, my question concerns the ā€˜burnā€™ function. I note that the in-built _burn function is ā€˜internalā€™ and doesnā€™t appear on the remix buttons, and thus call it through this function so that it does - I want this burn function to require someone to be the owner of a given token in order to burn it. I am pretty clueless as to if someone who is not the token owner could backdoor into the original ā€œ_burnā€ function once the contract is deployed and essentially burn the token without being the owner.

Tl;dr - _burn is an internal function. I call it within the contract through my function ā€œburnā€ - is there a way for someone to call the _burn function by a means other than through my ā€œburnā€ function and thus burn a token without being the owner.