Resources/examples to build a front end for an ERC20 contract using React?

@abcoathup do you by chance know if there are any good resources/examples to build out a front end for this ERC20 contract using React?

1 Like

Hi @crypto_economics,

You could try @PaulRBerg’s:

Alternatively you could look at:

2 Likes

Thanks for the shill, Andrew!

@crypto_economics, Create Eth App is exactly what you need. It shows how to integrate an ERC20 contract (the one written by OpenZeppelin) into the frontend code base and how to call it via ethers.js.

Just make sure you have yarn installed and run this command:

yarn create eth-app my-eth-app --framework react

As a bonus, if you want to build a frontend app on top of an existing DeFi protocol like Uniswap, you can do this:

yarn create eth-app my-eth-app --framework react --template uniswap

See a list of all available templates here.

Happy coding!

3 Likes

hi Paul,

Thank you for reaching out. I am new to coding and just need to build a very simple front end based on a simple contract like this:

contract MyToken is ERC20, Pausable, Ownable {
constructor(string memory _name, string memory _symbol) ERC20(_name, _symbol) public {
_mint(msg.sender, 1000);

How do i even get started with your repo to build some simple functions on a front end?

Regards,

Luke

1 Like

You need to make a distinction between frontend and backend code. Create Eth App lets you build your frontend app with either React or Vue, so that’s the frontend part. Whereas the backend in Ethereum are contracts. To code smart contracts, you may want to use a development environment like Hardhat or Truffle. You then compile your contract in there, grab the ABI from the “artifacts” folder, and finally paste that in the frontend repo you bootstrapped with Create Eth App.

2 Likes